w211 high co and low lambda

gn1459

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
w211
hi guys
i am new to this so please excuse me if i mess up.
i have a problem with my 2003 mercedes w211 e200 1.8 kompressor.
it failed its nct test showing high co (aprox 3.50) and low lambda (aprox 90) meaning rich mixture.
i borrowed a friends same year and model car with good emission readings and swapped over both 02 sensors. air flow sensor. map sensor. temp sensor . throttle body.cat.the pipe under the air box and kompressor. but still the same. i sent the car to a garage(a friend) to see if he could repair it but when i got it back it was running worse it turned out the timing chain had jumped some teeth!!!!!, i thought that this could have been the problem all along but i got the car back today with chain repaired and the car running like a watch (as it had been all along) but the emissions are still the same. i am a retired mechanic used to working on older cars this problem has me baffled. i have read posts on this forum and see you guys know your stuff about mercs.
i would be very grateful if anyone could shed some light on this.

Steve@Avantgarde

Forum Supporter
Authorised Forum Supporter
Reaction score
Website
www.avantgarde-automotive.co.uk
Your Mercedes
E300 Coupe AMG Line PP/NE, SLR McLaren Roadster, SL55 & C32AMG
These engines also burn out the exhaust valves there are modified valves, springs, seats and injectors to cure this issue.

Do you have any fault codes stored?

Have a search through the threads on the forum as someone else was having issues with a 271 engine with high emmisions I will see if I can find it as there was some useful info there.

Alex Crow was the indie dealing with it and he may have posted his findings.

Alex Crow

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W169, W124, w202, W203, KTM 250 EXC, VW T25 camper and a Polo in a pear tree
Well, this is a popular topic at the minute!!