Why Are Mercedes so Difficult to Drive In The Snow????

loftylewis

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
06 C220 Sport Edition and 56 E220 Elegance
Last year in our C220 in the snow, the onboard management system just 'took over' and stopped anything happening and grinding the car to a halt and then refused allow any meaningfull traction before the 'clever bits' stopped anything happening again.

this Year same thing in our E220 and even worse, the inner rear would spin and 'drag' the car into the deeper snow on the side of the road getting further stuck!!

I am a careful driver, engage 'comfort' setting in the snow, have tried both traction control on and off with little difference to be honest, and this morning the only cars that seemed to be having significant problems were all Mercedes - why?? even my daughters ancient Peugeot 206 manual was able to get along quite happilly!!

Any thoughts or comments anyone??

st4

Banned
Reaction score
Website
1-stephen-taylor.artistwebsites.com
Your Mercedes
Disqualified driver
Its RWD.

Try weighing down the back of the car, full tank of fuel and a full boot will weight down the back wheels to give more traction. The car should move off in the C mode without any pressure on the go pedal. They can be driven in the snow if treated with care

OP
L

loftylewis

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
True enough Dan, but other rear wheel drive motors such as 5 series and Jags seemed ok, think that the nanny state traction control system adds to the difficulties too;)

OP
L

loftylewis

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
funnily enough, the only thing not included in your suggestions was the full tank of fuel which was only because the blinking garage had not opended due to the snow!!
cheers for the comments, gotta go rescue another daughter shortly, and have since brimmed the tank so will see how we get on!!

drmw

Reaction score
Website
www.autonomed.co.uk
Your Mercedes
M6 Cab - prior to that, SL63 AMG, A-M V8 Vantage, SL55, SL500 and many more