2008 c220 cdi 4 cylinder glow control module location?

Deebm

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2008 c220 cdi
Hi all, total noob here so please bear with me. I have a 2008 c220 cdi 4 cylinder that started becoming difficult to start, had it diagnosed as glow plugs faulty which has killed the glow module so so have purchased new heater plugs and glow module but can't seem to find where the glow module is located on my car. I've trawled the Web but can't find a definitive answer as to its location. Any help would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance - Dee. Any pics would be great!

Brizzle

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
E220 AMG Night Edition Bluetec Auto Estate (Feb 2016)
Hi Deebm,

I'm looking at doing the same job this weekend L(

Where did you buy the control module? I've been ringing around all day and no-one I spoke to has them in stock so looking at ordering on-line from Germany with delivery "assured" for Friday. Why Germany? 'cos it was the best price I could find by far :(

According to WIS the controller is located under the engine on the passenger side - fixed onto the charge air manifold. You have to remove the bottom section of sound proofing to get at it. Just what you need on a cold winter's morning :(

Last edited:

M80

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2014 639 Viano- 651, 5sp Auto. 2009 S211- 646, 5sp Auto.
TBH if you have the new module comparing it to the unit under the bonnet should give it away.
Looking for the two heavy duty cables plugging into the underside should help to locate.

I would spend the next couple of days spraying the glow plugs with WD40 and running the engine up to temp. It can help the old plugs come out without shearing, they're delicate things.

OP
D

Deebm

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2008 c220 cdi