300TD W123 rear suspension

100haggis

Reaction score
Hello all,
Apologies for any errors but I'm a newbie. I've bought a 300Td which has a few issues but the first is with the self levelling suspension. The rear end bounces quite a bit as if the shockers are knackered but before I dive in and replace them how do I give the system a check over to make sure it's actually working? Can normal shocks be fitted and make the self levelling obselete? Also my central locking is playing up. The door buttons come up slowly as you drive but they never go down on the key. Could this be an air leak issue and if so where should I start looking? I have a haynes manual for the car which doesn't have much detail, are there better service manuals available to Joe Public?
Cheers
Matt

simon_wall69

Reaction score
To check the self-levelling works put something weighty in the boot (child or wife?) and see if the back of the car rises. You can replace the self-levelling suspension with normal springs and this is what a lot of people have done.

The central locking is a vacuum issue. There are loads of threads on this but it generally comes down to replacing pipes. The vacuum tank is next to the fuel tank and the vacuum pipes are all over the car. The vacuum pipes tend to go where the pipes go into the doors.

OP

100haggis

Reaction score
Cheers Simon,
Should the car be idling when I get my missus to clamber in the boot or would some revs help get thimgs going? Also if I was to ditch the self levelling do you know of part numbers etc for standard suspension kit and if there are any MOT implications down the line?
Matt

Number_Cruncher

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
1995 W124 E300D TE
>>The rear end bounces quite a bit as if the shockers are knackered...

First things first - the devices which look like shock absorbers or dampers *aren't*. They are simply hydraulic rams. If you replace these, it will not fix your problem.