Electrical Gremlin / Flat Battery

Brian Davey

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C200K Elegance 2008
Complete newbie on the site, first Mercedes I have owned (since February this year). C200K Elegance, 2008, 55K miles.

Have travelled several thousand miles without any trouble. Last Monday morning, car was totally dead. Had to open driver’s door with the emergency key. Turned ignition, nothing, no power at all, dead, instrumentation blank, no sounds of starter motor trying to turn.

Noticed, strangely, that the rear light clusters were both lit - but no front lights showing. Light switch was set at 0 and stalk in central position. I had auto fold door mirrors option and courtesy lights on option set before fail.

Suspected battery had died and needed replacement. Called out RAC who tested battery and alternator, both tested ok. Got car going again, noticed that door mirrors were folding in but not extending when unlocking the car.

Took car to auto electrician who tested rear light wiring and checked for any water leaks around the electrics but found none.

Can anyone shed any light on the problem, notably rear light clusters being illuminated when battery is flat (and likely causing power drain)??

John Laidlaw

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Land Rover Discovery 4
I’m fearing the answer already!

OP
B

Brian Davey

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C200K Elegance 2008
The RAC man had a power pack - wrong answer??

Botus

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
S500/2010/500
if its all back to normal (except mirrors forgot how to work) this doesn't sound much like a battery issue to me, particularly where you wrote that the rear lights were on with a dead battery - so it wasn't dead - but the car was having a moment ?

SAM issue ? (signal acquisition module) my frowned on name (but easiest way to get your head round what it does) is to think if it as a "posh fuse box" containing a programmable brain. known to give up and make odd things misbehave

OP
B

Brian Davey

Reaction score