How long will my clutch last?

PJ61

Reaction score
At about 118k the local MOT tester pointed out that my clutch was starting to go. 9 months and 10k later, I'm starting to notice it myself (OK - I'm just a dumb driver).

I now realise fuel consumption has not been what it was when I first got the car (a C200 est). I'd say it's down about 10%. Very gradual process.

Three questions:
Would some slippage explain the consumption?

Am I damaging something else by continuing to drive the car (I will need to cover about 400 miles between now and Tuesday, but can book it in after that)?

Should I go to my usual Merc independent, or is it worth using a factory like Mr Clutch (who've quoted me £330 all in)?

Thanks.

television

Always remembered RIP
Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2002 SL500, 216 CL500, all fully loaded
It depends on who much slipping if it is slipping that you have, if you go uphill in say in 3rd and when you put your foot down the engine revs go up, but the car does not increase in speed, then it could be said that it is slipping.

There are different parts to it, there is the thrust bearing, that can make a crunch when you put it in gear.

A slipping clutch can damage the fly wheel, thrust bearing/plate can collapse to name a few. You could do some clutch less gear changes by getting the speed of the car synchronized with the engine.

Malcolm

wscheffer

Reaction score
Website
www.scheffers.com
10% is a pretty big difference too says it’s just the clutch, but any time theirs slippage the result will be in less mpg. Since the motor must produce more rotations to cover the same distance.

I don’t know how bad the slippage is on your Merc. But I will assume that it is quite noticeable or you would not be posting this thread.