Police and Insurance

Rob law

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
CLS 320
I flew back into thr UK Sunday at Heathrow and as usual my wife was picking me up in the merc.

I phoned her to see where she was and she told me she was at the parking in a police car arrested for having no insurance.

The car was also going to be impounded at 150 pound plus 20 per day.

The police gave her a fixed 6 point penalty and. 300 pound fine.

My insurance is with M&S and automatically renewed, the day before she was stopped, but the insurer has seven days to up date the police data. We now have the trouble of trying to sort out, we have been told we must attend court to sort out, which may be a problem as my wife has major surgery this week.

Anyone else had this problem being fined when the car was all legal and advise would be helpful

drmw

Reaction score
Website
www.autonomed.co.uk
Your Mercedes
M6 Cab - prior to that, SL63 AMG, A-M V8 Vantage, SL55, SL500 and many more
I am not a lawyer, but as the problem lies between the police (computer) and the insurance company (computer) and you are and have been insured 100% of the time then you have no case to answer.

You don't say who told you you "must" attend court but I presume it was the authorities.

I suggest you get onto the insurers and ask them who they are going to send along to court to represent you as you are unable for personal reasons to attend and any implied default is completely between them and the PNC.

I would also write to the appropriate chief constable and demand an explanation and apology for the excess zeal and lack of common sense

rich599

Reaction score
Website
www.doodes.co.uk
Your Mercedes
w204/sprinter/vw t5 autosleeper/david brown 880/david brown 950
Sounds odd usually if it is not showing on the computer the police phone the insurance company to make sure that there hasn't been a clerical error,such as this

redbaron1973

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
SL320 R129
Something doesnt add up here.