Where’s my oil going!!

Sm86

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
CLS55 AMG (2005)
Hi guys,

Still a newbie here and to new to AMG’s too! Need a bit of help please...

I have a 2005 (55) CLS55 AMG. It’s covered just shy of 110k miles with full service history. Serviced pretty much every 10k miles since new.

After purchasing the car, I serviced it (around 1700 miles ago). I had the oil, oil filter, air filters and pollen filter replaced.

I used a genuine Mercedes oil filter and got my oil from Opie Oils (Fuchs Titan Race Pro S 5W-40 Ester Fully Synthetic Engine Oil).

I was on the motorway a few days ago and a message came up on the dash asking for 1L of oil when refuelling next. I stopped shortly after and put in a litre of the same oil. I then drove around 150 miles and got home.

The next day, I’m on the motorway again (approximately 200 miles since putting in the litre of oil previously) and i get the same message come up. Again, i stopped and topped up a litre of the same oil.

I was worried that the car has taken 2 litres of oil in 1700 miles. My last car was a B7 RS4 and that would take a litre every 4,000 miles or so but apparently that’s normal. This seems like quite a bit in 1700 miles?

I noticed some fresh oil on the driveway too. Unfortunately there have been several cars in the same spot on the drive over the weekend so I can’t say with 100% certainty it’s from mine. So i got the car up on the ramp today and had the mechanic remove the undertray. Not a drop of oil to be seen anywhere...

The car is driving perfectly.

Any ideas? Anyone experienced similar in the past?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance :)

John Laidlaw

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Land Rover Discovery 4
Mercedes will say the AMG engines may use up to 1 litre per 1000 miles if I remember correctly , mine is about a litre every 3-4K , yours does seem a bit much.
Can’t remember if yours has a dip stick?