Xenons in Europe

Billy San

Reaction score
Hi all, this is my first post.

I am taking my 2000X C320 to France at the end of July and need to adjust the Xenon headlights to comply with driving on the 'wrong' side of the road.

The maintenance book doesn't say how to adjust them - can anybody please help!!

Cheers,

:lol:

marnix

Reaction score
Hi,
Do you have electric head lights level adjustment on this car?
If "yes", just lower the beam and you should be OK.
This is all I'm doing when taking my SLK abroad and it has not caused anyone to flash me for the last 3 years.

996jimbo

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C43 estate
I'm no expert..... but,

Xenon's are auto self levelling so you can't make any adjustment and even if you could it would probably be a bad idea.

I believe your only option is to get the stick on things on the lights which blank out the bit of the beam that would shine in people's eyes.

Not had to do it yet myself though so be sure and post what the actual answer is for info.

Regards,
Jim

Myros

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
R107, S211, R170, C219
this could be another long thread

The answer is we have to comply with the local regulations in the country in which we are driving, usually the same as ours, ie no dazzle correctly adjusted and all that. For non-auto levelling, like mine, they can be set to the lowest, and you could aim them more to the right at the headlamp, but that's a poor compromise for me. It's easier to get the right stick on thing and whack it on. No need to re-aim the lights that way.
I am very conscious that while we buy these things by the bucketload to visit the continent, our european neighbours don't bother when they visit us. If you want to waste an hour or two, pop in to Charles Bruns or 'Alfordes anywhere in France and try and find the beam-benders.

The Editor

Reaction score
But..... It's only the French !!.. Don't bother.....Blind the bu**ers !!

Any more un-'PC' answers... Just ask !!

SLinKyjoe

Reaction score