UK to Spain lighting question

Wendy Powell

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
64 reg B class diesel
Morning, I’m a newbie to this site.
I have a 64 plate B class and I am taking it over to Spain full time

I have been told they apparently I can adjust the lights instead of changing them to meet eu regulations to register it on a Spanish plate

Does anyone know how this is exactly done?

thanks in advance !!

bembo449

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Mercedes Cl500, shitron dispatch
either at an mot testing station who will manually adjust them or they simply may have a little lever on each lamp unit to swap between LHD & RHD , I'm sure someone will know for sure

Craiglxviii

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
970 Panamera Turbo; W221 S500L AMG Line, C215 CL500, W251 R350L AMG Line, plus several more now gone
That’s fine for visiting, but to permanently export the car I believe it has to have native condition headlamps, which means a complete swap out from right to left hand drive units.

Craiglxviii

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
970 Panamera Turbo; W221 S500L AMG Line, C215 CL500, W251 R350L AMG Line, plus several more now gone
that's the sort of good news the OP wasn't expecting pal
The good news is, it isn’t necessarily massively expensive or difficult to do.

Oldspanners

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C CLASS 2004 C180
It depends on how the regulations are interpreted in Spain.
Here in France the car will pass its Control Technique with just the beam "flattened" by moving a lever if fitted on the lights or by changing the settings on the car if you have (I think) "intelligent lighting".
The expense of changing lights depends obviously on the model, older cars with ordinary bulbs are cheaper, I had to change my 2004 C class cost me about £150 five years ago, a couple of hours to fit DIY, and about €20 to set on a beam setter.#
Edit if you do need to buy new lights make sure they have the E marking for European conformity as there are a lot of cheap ones that don't.