C350 thermostat replacement.

KingMaz

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C350 CDI, 2013, OM642
Tried replacing the thermostat on my W204 C350 CDI today. Got as far as the last bolt but couldn't figure how to get it out. I managed to get it loosened but can't remove it due to the pipework. Seems to be a load of videos online of people replacing thermostats but none for this model. Any ideas?

Thanks 20190622_184725.jpg
Screenshot_20190622-212205_WhatsApp.jpg

allybassman

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2012 C350 Estate
Looking at that, I'd be inclined to remove the fuel filter or disconnect the fuel send and recieve pipes to it to give you better access.

I am no mechanic, i'm just giving an opinion!

LostKiwi

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
'93 500SL-32, '01 W210 Estate E240 (RIP), 02 R230 SL500, 04 Smart Roadster Coupe, 11 R350CDi
Will the pipework not flex out the way a little?

OP
K

KingMaz

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C350 CDI, 2013, OM642
@allybassman I was thinking about doing that but wasn't sure if this was the right way/ the only way to do it...

@LostKiwi I've tried, no matter which way you try flex the pipes and there always something in the way.

Thanks for the suggestions though

OP
K

KingMaz

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C350 CDI, 2013, OM642
This is the video I watched to help me but "conviently" skips out the part to show how he got it out. I also think he's working on a slightly different model, pre 09?, as some of the compents are in slightly different places.

Oldspanners

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C CLASS 2004 C180
This is the video I watched to help me but "conviently" skips out the part to show how he got it out. I also think he's working on a slightly different model, pre 09?, as some of the compents are in slightly different places.
Here is the WIS document https://mbwis.net/en/doc/7027798 if I have the correct engine 642.830
In para 9 it states,
The fuel line (8) must be pushed slightly to the side to pass the bolt (9) by at the fuel line (8).