190 2.5 diesel 1986 - engine labour on accelleration only

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joseph

Reaction score
I have a 190 2.5 diesel 1986. It proved to be a reliable car. Ever since it reached 100,000 km, (it now has 156K) upon accelleration, you can hear a vibration echoed through the, generally speaking, the body of the car, that seemes to be geared to how much load the engine is called upon to bear, i.e. to how much you press the accellerator pedal, and to how many passengers you have and/or which gear.

If you try to accellerate through gears, for example, it is less. If you can wait for it to accellerate slowly and prees more pedal slowly slowly, the noise is much less.

We did a compression test and the compression is fine.
The oil pressure is fine too.

I come from an engineering environment and understand how engines work preety well. But I am not experienced with such faults.

What I do know is that mercedes recomment injector replacement every 100,000 Km. When I asked why, I was told that the spring inside weakens, and that fuel gets inhected much earlier than it is supposed to, hence the burn gets closer to TDC which is a big strain on the engine.
But is this what I have ?

Or is it the mountings that after 18 years, have died down ?

Or what ?

If any one can help - I will appreciate it - thanks

Joe
jmbh@onvol.net

Banned
Reaction score
Re: 190 2.5 diesel 1986 - engine labour on accelleration onl

Joseph said:
I have a 190 2.5 diesel 1986. It proved to be a reliable car. Ever since it reached 100,000 km, (it now has 156K) upon accelleration, you can hear a vibration echoed through the, generally speaking, the body of the car, that seemes to be geared to how much load the engine is called upon to bear, i.e. to how much you press the accellerator pedal, and to how many passengers you have and/or which gear.