Need some advice on getting a towbar fitted

GrahamDo

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W170 and W166
Hi all,

Am thinking of getting myself a tow-bar fitted for those family weekends away where the boot just isn't quite big enough, and I don't really want a top-box. I've got an 1999 E300 (W210). I'm after some advice on any recommendations for type of towbar and any types to avoid.

Rocketship

Reaction score
Towbar for E300

I'm new to this lark (conversing on web room) so if it goes Pete Tong - I appologise now!!

Read your request on info re towbar for (in your case) saloon 210 model Merc. I've just acquired an estate 300 TD (silver - with low profile AMG's - hence "Rocketship"! ;) ) after owning a saloon E300 which had a fixed towbar.

The new vehicle has no towbar fitted - and since I have a trailer (currently full of rubbish and recycling) I needed to fit one PDQ! :eek:

I had decided I wanted to go for a removable item. It just looks so much nicer when the cars not towing to be able to take off the ball and have a clean rear bumper line.

Now I contacted my local MB dealer whose spare parts dept relished (or so it sounded) in quoting me £750 + to supply me with there unit. :confused:

Gulp. with them fitting it it's something like a £1500 bill!! :roll:

So after trawling the web for a suitable item I came across Towequipe in Nuneaton. Andrew there was extremely helpful and I bought a Westfalia item from them.

Now towbars nowadays are produced as a pattern parts which means they have to be produced to manufacturers tolerances so as to fit into dimensions created by chassis members and valances, exhausts etc on any given model.

The Westfalia unit - I have to say- is a beautiful piece of kit. In fact as I understand it Westfalia actually make the MB unit but instead of attaching their own "Westfalia" badging, they apply the 3 pointed star we all know (and love??!).

And it cost less than half than the MB unit. :lol:

So today I fitted it.

2 hours.