No longer at my Comand?

Mic

Reaction score
Website
www.bennettgibbons.co.uk
Your Mercedes
MB SL500(2003), MB SLK320(2001), Volvo V70 XC AWD(2001)
I have been considering for many months what to do about my antiquated 2003 Comand system. The options in terms of upgrading the Comand system are limited and expensive for what is achievable.
To some extent I was forced into making a decision when just before a recent trip to Antwerp I dropped my TomTom onto the screen of the Comand unit causing screen damage. Stupid and clumsy but I should not have felt the need to be using the TomTom in preference to the in car system.
I now have an Alpine INA-W910R (google it if you are interested) installed in the car and it looks like this:

DSC02291.jpg

It has a 7" screen (many of you will have a false impression of what 7" really represents !!!***???) and does everything that I expect to want of it and a whole lot more and it is expandable (not the screen). Radio, CD, DVD, iphone, SD card, and most importantly Europe wide satellite navigation and fixed camera data base. This has allowed me to dispense with the B2 and tidy up/ declutter the interior of the car.
This decision was based on the fact that I intend keeping the car indefinitely and ultimately I had to go for function over form although I think it sits quite neatly in the car.
The cost was £1692.99 supplied and fitted including facia kit, mrp V70, lab Bose replacement and a wiring kit.
I now have surplus to requirements a Bose amplifier, 6CD changer and a 2003 Comand unit with a damaged screen.

I now have to find out how to use the 910 which is supposed to be largely intuitive !!!***???

Mic

S.Speed

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Older Citroen Now :-(
Nice one Mic..
I dont know why I feel surprised that you have splashed out on your car..
But i do..

You cant beat 7" (from what I hear)...

It looks like a very nice piece of kit and its a top notch make as well...

television

Always remembered RIP
Reaction score