CL500, CL63 and others......decisions, decisions

mpwnbr

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Mercedes CL600 / 2007 / 5.5 litre
Hi, and thanks in advance for anyone who'll spare me their thoughts and experiences to assist my predicament.

I've been a BMW driver (6 different 3 series convertibles over the last 14 years) and now looking to make a bit of a step change. I have a budget of £25k/£30k, looking to buy something sporty with a touch of class. My mileage is probably 80/20 motorway/urban driving, and around 18k miles per year.

I've played with the idea of a few different cars and ruled them out. AM Vantage didn't tick enough boxes and didn't blow my socks off like I thought it would. Nissan GTR, nice but few out there, need a bit more money and still a Nissan. The Bentley GT looks a little unreliable with people suggesting to need £10k per year for repairs. And also considered the Chelsea Tractors, but they don't tick the sporty box.

So, in the mix remain the CL500 and after a test drive at the weekend more likely the C63. If people could please therefore provide their thoughts and experiences it would be much appreciated. Some of my questions would include:

1) Is the feel of the CL500 really so different to the CL63?
2) What are your experiences in terms of reliability?
3) There tends to be a lot of toys on the car. Does anyone have problems with these? Cameras failing? Massage seats giving up?
4) Does the car have any particular issues, such as timing chain going?
5) How far round the clock will these cars go? Would you rule out buying a car with 70k on the clock?
6) With my mixed mileage, predominantly motorway, what would you estimate mpg to be? 18/19?
7) What mileage do you get out of the tyres?
8) Of the above possible motors, does anyone have experience of any of these? If so am I making the right choice with the CL?

Any feedback on the above or any other information would be much appreciated.

Thanks again,
Mark

television

Always remembered RIP