Hard Work Starting 2003 E 270cdi

Darren W

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
E270cdi
Hi all, just joined so please treat me gentle I'm not a mechanic just a Merc Owner with a problem!
E 270 CDI 2003. Owned for nearly 2 years. Had previous Mercs, C200, E 320 CDI Estate.
Suddenly (few months ago), starting issues began. Starts sometimes but only after cranking for ages.
New Battery and I replaced Glow Plugs.
Sometimes it starts but usually after at least 2/3 10 second turnovers. Sometimes just turns for that long get 2 warning messages on dash, Electrical Consumer Switched off and most common ESP.
Sometimes needs jump leads and then usually starts fairly quickly. Have trickle charged battery as well as jumped. But not understanding this as bought new battery.
I'm fairly able but not a Mechanic so any advice please in simple terms. In advance Thanks.

Ben2008

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
E270tdi W211 Auto 2004 Estate
Hello Darren, I have a 2004 E270 Estate as a second car. It has been a fantastic car, the 270 is a trouble free engine if looked after. But I have had many problems with the battery. It has to be tip top to start the engine. I don't know if you are aware there is a second battery under the bonnet, looking from the front of engine it is on the right hand side under a plastic cover. It is only a small battery but very heavy. I replaced my one last year. I don't know if this is any thing to do with your starting problem.

malcolm E53 AMG

Reaction score
If the car has plastic fuel lines on the LP fuel supply line it may be leaking air into the line, they have an ‘o’ ring seal either end which goes brittle over time - new pipes should be available from the dealer

mersum1es

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
W212/-09/350CDI, W219/-07/320CDI, EX:W220/-01/320CDI, EX:W211/-04/320CDI, EX:W210/-01/270CDI
OP
D

Darren W

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
E270cdi