J D Powers poor review on 04 SL 500?

Status
Not open for further replies.

springer

Reaction score
I am new to to group so I don't know if this topic has come up in the past, but I have just placed an order for an 05 SL 500. After doing so I happened to log on to JD Powers sight and was rather shocked to see what I would call a rather poor rating on the car. I still have my 72 450 SL which I have been extremely happy with. We also have a 04 CLK Cab that was in the shop for 6 weeks to fix the top. A major problem getting parts out of Europe and getting the correct parts. My concern is, is MB no longer the car it once was I don't want to make a $100,000 mistake

Arnie

Reaction score
see this other thread and read the Top-Gear story:

http://forums.mercedesclub.org.uk/viewtopic.php?t=6777

The new SL is a very fine and extremely desirable car. It is however packed with all the latest technology, and that's where part of the problem lies. MB used to be more conservative, only introducing new things, once fully tried and tested ("don't be the first- be the best.."), but this car has it all, before any one else (dual voltage/battery system, electronically operated brakes, active suspension, clever (too clever) roof mechanism, 7-speed gearbox...)

So, there are bound to be niggles and teething troubles and this is what's happened, with many cars being recalled for brakes, and some having problems with roofs and other electronics.

The other side, regarding build-quality, is a major improvement over the MB cars of the last 8-10 years, but the materials are not quite up to the standard of even the last 129 SL and there is evidence of cost-cutting (plastic sills, rather than stainless steel etc). Most of this is no-doubt with the excuse of recyclability, but it is an obvious downgrade, that should not be seen in a car at this price.

It may not be the best, and it may not be 100% reliable, but really there's not much else like it for the money....

OlafMaxwell