Possible MAF Problems ML 270

Welshlensman

Reaction score
Website
www.educationalimaging.co.uk
Your Mercedes
ML 270 2003
Been having problems with the power on my ML for a very long time and nobody seems to have an idea what's going on. "Enough is enough. Lets just have a fiddle me thinks".

Anyway, I filled the fuel tank the other day and decided to totally disconnect the MAF plug to: (a) see if a dash warning light would illuminate. (b) see how the performance was affected. (c) Check if by doing this, there were fuel consumption differences.

(a) No warning light showing.

(b) Its now been disconnected for around three days and although the burst acceleration is much slower the gradual has not really been affected at all. In fact it seems a little 'smoother'.

(c) I usually get around the 130 - 140 miles between the full (up the filler tube) to the three quarters mark - I'm still getting that with the MAF un-plugged.

Afraid I'm not technically minded but does this mean something is wrong with the actual MAF or perhaps corresponding wiring? Is there normally a warning light? If there is a problem with the wiring, does anybody have a diagram of the colour codes from the plug to the ECU for reference.

Any help appreciated guys.

Thanks

denchen

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2019 B180d W247
I don`t know if it helps but my C270, I believe its a bit different to yours, anyway it started to loose acceleration and use more fuel. I got some proper MAF cleaner of ebay and cleaned the MAF sensor and fitted a new air filter. Motor runs like a dream again now and over 50 mpg again on longer runs

E320C

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
E320 Coupe Sportline, E320 Cab Sportline, S211 E320 CDI, Alfa Berlina
MAF