R230 3,7 V6

Budwood

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
R230 2006 3.7 V6
Hi all im now starting to look for a R230 3.7 V6 there's a guy who live about 50 miles from me who has 3 of these for sale and 2 CLK's ,
he's not about for 6 weeks so im just wondering as im new to the mercedes world what i need to look out for, 1 of them is a silver 03 with 62k
1 is a dark blue 06 with 99k and the last one is teal blue with 72k, i would be so greatful for any info about my future purchase
thank you

Blobcat

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
R171 SLK280, Smart R451, Land Rover 110 County SW, 997 C2S, R1250 GSA TE 40th, CBR600FP
Hello and welcome,

Check for water leaks, open the boot lift up the liner and check the foam around the pump for moisture

LostKiwi

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
'93 500SL-32, '01 W210 Estate E240 (RIP), 02 R230 SL500, 04 Smart Roadster Coupe, 11 R350CDi
As above.
Additionally the 06 will need an SBC pump soon if it's not had one.

The early one will use the 241hp 3.7 litre m112 engine. Super reliable but not the power of the later engine (changeover year was 2006).
The later engine is 3.5 litres and 268hp and more economical but has been known to have balance shaft issues which are expensive to sort. If not sorted the engine can be destroyed.

In 2004 there was a change in the Command system to a much improved one (not retrofittable). There are direct swap Android units (as long as the car doesn't have Bose).

Personally I'd go the earlier one all things considered.

ajlsl600

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
clk3202001,sl6002003 with everything regrettably sold ,A class 170cdi auto. NG/TF1800 ML250
Same as that earlier car, longer before u test Yr walkin boots. Non abc on that model= less hassle as well.

SL63 Mark

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
R231 SL63 AMG
Check Service history

Check everything works, particularly the roof, electric seats, Comand.

Check for rust in unexpected place, eg lower doors and rear wheel arches.