SL500 no dipped beam

AJBaird

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
SL500
Hi Everyone

I'm new to the world of SL500 ownership. I hope it isn't going to be a world of pain!

On my 2003 SL I have no dipped beam. Both sides are out and there is no warning message on the dash. High beam clicks in fine on both sides. Is there a fuse or relay covering just dipped beam that may have failed? I've seen posts where others report one side failing, but with both sides out it makes me think there may be a more 'central' problem.

I have a few other questions, but I'll start separate threads to keep things simple.

Any help will be much appreciated. Finances are such that I'll try to do all I can myself...

Cheers

Andrew

A.J.

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
UnMerc - 2020 VW Polo 2.0t GTi Plus, DSG. Flash Red, Traditional VW GTi Tartan seat trim.
Hi Andrew and welcome to the forum. I personally am unable to help with your problem however, you have come to the right place, this is the best forum out there by quite a long way. A few members here have SL500's and are knowledgeable people so hopefully help will be along very soon. :)

OP
A

AJBaird

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
SL500
Thanks Andy. It certainly seems like a helpful and friendly place. The amount of electrickery on the SL is a worry, but hopefully others can steer me in the right direction.

Cheers

Andrew

00slk

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2002 SL55 AMG, 2005 E320 CDi, 2014 SLK250 CDi, 2003 SLK200
Hello and welcome, yes you have come to the right place, though my electrical knowledge you could put on a postage stamp and still have room to right a book :oops:
At a guess, maybe a control unit, I think these will have Xeon lights?

John Laidlaw

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Land Rover Discovery 4
Welcome Andrew, suppose I have to be the stupid one but....have you checked the bulbs?

Blobcat

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
R171 SLK280, Smart R451, Land Rover 110 County SW, 997 C2S, R1250 GSA TE 40th, CBR600FP