SLK 250 CDI or SLK 250 CDI AMG Sport?

olivercollings

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
SLK 250 CDI
Hi Guys,

I am new to MB ownership and I am looking to buy either a new SLK 250 CDI or SLK 250 CDI AMG Sport.

I would love some feedback on what you think I should choose. I love the AMG body styling but does the lower suspension and larger wheels ruin the ride?

Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated.

Ollie

Developer

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
S212 E63 S 5.5 biturbo
Welcome Ollie,

The twin turbo engine is a peach - big shove from no revs.

I'd go for the AMG styling, even if there was a slight deprecation in ride quality.

A test drive is the only way - opinions are very subjective I'm afraid.

Last edited:

JBell

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C350 CDi Estate (GAD Edition)
It's a sports car so AMG all the way, if you want comfort buy an S Class.

You need to consider mileage and type of driving with a diesel, they are not good for town and short journeys due to potential DPF issues i.e clogging

OP
O

olivercollings

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
SLK 250 CDI
Thanks guys,

Well I live in Milton Keynes and although I will be driving roughly 20 miles per day on average the dual carriage ways allow me to push it a little to keep the DPF clear.

Also the car will be used on at least one long journey (over 100 miles) per month.

Trying to get a test drive at my local MB dealership has been a nightmare. The sales guy never rings me back and when he does he is vague and unhelpful. I shall be travelling a little further a field when I come to order.

I have the colour combo nailed down to either Obsidian Black/Red Leather, Obsidian Black/Black Leather with Red Stitching or Silver/Red Leather.

Are there any options that are a must have for this car?

Cheers

Developer

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
S212 E63 S 5.5 biturbo