Do SLK's really RUST this bad

Musky

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2001 SLK 200
Hi everybody, I'm totally new to Mercedes, but I/we have decided that my mid life crisis needs some exitement in it! to satisfy this we are going to buy a second hand 200SLK, we have seen the one that represents the best value for money regards age/milage and equipment and have settled on a 2001 two owner model. I have given it a test drive and found it to be faultless for the money (£6000) I am due to pick it up on Saturday complete with new MOT, my problem arises from asking my local garage what if anything I should look out for, and to my horror he told me that SLK's of that age rusted really badly behind and under the plastic covers and also in the boot where the roof folds into. when i went to see the car the last thing that I was looking for on a 2001 Mercedes was rust and as such never even looked underneath. Am I being wound up about this or is there really a serious problem with this age of car.
Any and all advice very much appreciated especially before Saturday when I am due to collect it.
Cheers
Steve

AndrewIles

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
SLK 55 AMG
Not being wound up, rust can be a really big problem with all Mercs of that vintage!

Check around the wheel arches in particular for any sign of bubbling.

MB do have a 30 year anti-rust warranty but there are several criteria that you need to meet to qualify e.g. good MB service history, owned the car for at least 6 months, rust coming from inside to out etc.

Do a search on the site for RUST and you will find out more.

jibcl500

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
CL500,ML55,SLK280
I have a 2000 230K obsidian black with 17 AMG alloys, looks fantastic when clean and polished which is exactly what I did on sunday.