1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

iCarsoft MBii Software & Review

Discussion in 'Engine, Drivetrain, Fuel and Exhaust' started by NBurns, Jan 12, 2020.

1. NBurns

NBurns Senior Member

Your Mercedes:
    C220 CDI Classic SE/2005/S203.208/OM646.963
    While I value some of the basics of what my iCarsoft diagnostics tells me, especially regarding error codes, etc, I do have some unfortunate frustrations with the kit.
    It is great for telling one what is going wrong or right before you start the car, the battery voltage test on the front screen has been highly useful recently. The diagnostics has also been extremely useful in showing up any glitches or major failures. Especially as I now know I have intermittent faults with either three glow plugs, their wiring loom or both.
    Where the kit frustrates me is when there are values I know nothing about and as an engineer I am used to seeing a range given as well as the value. Plus, on some values given there is no indication as to what it is measuring, I.e pressure, temperature, wind speed through a sensor, etc, and therefore I cannot determine whether what I am seeing is good or bad. I must admit that I have been meaning to feed this back to iCarsoft however my last email to them seemed to fall on deaf ears. If anyone has an email address they 'Do' read, please do reply with it.
    I'm also, as a more modern engineer, finding the software somewhat clunky and that I cannot watch say two data items at the same time. I.e. Battery voltage while also looking to see why the car will not start.