Re-mapping after the MB software update

Mark A

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
58 ML-320CDI.
There have been. Large number of posts about how the diesel software update has adversely affected the performance and economy of many members cars.

Do any of our forum members/sponsors have positive updates on how to restore/improve things post software update??

Tony Dyson

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
2014 C 220 CDI W204 OM 651
Statements made by a number of forum members have indicated that when questioned, MB have always responded with a standard statement of ‘The ECM software update cannot be rolled back to the previous version.’ This has puzzled me for a long time, I cannot comment on Star/Xentry as I have no working knowledge of it but being involved with the programming and re-programming of Programmable Logic Controllers, Smart Meters, Intelligent relays etc, the list goes on and on, the process is the same with all the proprietary software, you can create new, save copies, retrieve existing versions from hardware, edit and post to the various devices, without exception. So why you cannot perform similar functions to a CAN-Bus installation I have a great difficulty in understanding? Surely records are kept within the automotive industry?

V6Matty

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
S212/2010/E350 (His) W246/2016/B200 (Hers)
They may exist but no good software house would let you use a version with known illegal faults, that’s why they can’t/won’t revert the car back. There will likely also be code to prevent rollback to ensure people can’t overwrite the newer version.

Larkone

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C219 CLS 320CDI 2008