Total newbie with headbolt issue

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
C63 amg w204 2009
Hi all. New to merc (infact new to forums although I read them all the time)

I finally moved up from my audi s5 and purchased my dream car, a 2009 c63 w204 saloon performance pack. Only to discover it was suffering coolant issues which eventually led to the car dying on me.

Mercedes Stratford suspect it's a gasket failure and I beleive it's all down to the headbolts.

Mb stratford wont give me an official quote as they need to strip down the engine in order to officially diagnose it which could apparently run over 10hours labour or £2k before I could find out what's exactly gone wrong!

I've got mb warranty on the car but I'm not willing to gamble £2k before finding out how much the full repair will cost. Also gaskets isnt covered under warranty but I believe the bolts are (if anyone can confirm?)

Could anyone point me to any trusted workshops who could do this type of job please? I've heard MSL are good in Birmingham.
Do you think if I take it to a vat reg indy, the parts that are covered under warranty would be paid for by MB?

Bit stuck on what to do here so any help and pointers would be much appreciated!
Thanks all

Amin

John Laidlaw

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
Land Rover Discovery 4
Welcome!
The headbolts issue affected engine numbers 60658 and below , must admit I can’t remember the date range...
I’d agree with your dilemma - if your engine is in the affected range you’ve a case with MB but if not then it’s a gamble
MSL are really experts on all things AMG so I can thoroughly recommend that route

Timeandleisure

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
SL500 2003 R230, E400d 4MATIC Coupe 2021
Not sure if this helps, only because you mention warranty also not knowing how long ago you bought your car... if you need recourse:
https://www.thecarexpert.co.uk/rejecting-a-car/
It’s a useful Guide to your rights and what you should expect.