2005 ML350 Flat Battery

bk18484

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
ML/2006/350
Hi apologies if this has been covered before but I'm a newbie and couldn't find a thread to cover this.

I've just come back from being away and found that the battery on my ML is dead, just about enough to power the interior lights for 60 seconds... tried to jump it but no joy.

Just need to know if there is a way of moving the electric seat without power so that I can get a socket / spanner on the bolts to remove the driver seat and change the battery.

Seem a daft design to me but any advise would be much apreciated.

Thanks

Ray

Cole@MBS

Forum Supporter
Authorised Forum Supporter
Reaction score
Website
www.mbssouthampton.co.uk
Your Mercedes
124 300 CE 24 Coupe, C220CDI, Porsche 911 4s, Dolomite sprint,
Under the bonnet on the o/s up near the bonnet stay is a red plastic connector box, lift the cover of, this is where you connect your plus from your jump leads, connect the other to a good earth point, if this don't start it as i suspect it wont, it will give you enough power to move the seat right forward and get it as high as it will go, then you have to remove the rear air con vent and pipe, then "cut" yes cut the carpet in two straight lines, then remove the battery cover, then you can jump it on the battery!!!!

OP
B

bk18484

Reaction score
Your Mercedes
ML/2006/350
Hi Thanks for the quick response, so I take it you can't move the seat without power! as I tried to move the seat with a battery attached when I tried to jump start it but not enough power..... maybe I didn't have a good earth point.

I'll give it ago Friday when I get back home.

Thanks again

Ray

Cole@MBS

Forum Supporter
Reaction score
Website
www.mbssouthampton.co.uk
Your Mercedes
Hi Thanks for the quick response, so I take it you can't move the seat without power! as I tried to move the seat with a battery attached when I tried to jump start it but not enough power..... maybe I didn't have a good earth point.